Bowdoin's Dann Receives 2006 Joe Concannon Award

Courtesy Bowdoin Sports Information

BOSTON - Bowdoin College senior forward Adam Dann has been named this year's winner of the sixth annual Joe Concannon Award by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston. The award recognizes New England's best American-born Division II-III hockey player.

Dann, a resident of Burlington, Vt., finished his career at Bowdoin with an outstanding season in which he scored 14 goals and 15 assists for 29 points in just 24 games. During his career, Dann posted a balanced total of 58 goals and 52 assists for 110 points in playing 98 career games for the Polar Bears. Dann was named NESCAC All-Conference Second Team for the second consecutive year following his first team selection after the 2003-2004 season. He was team captain this season and led his team to the NESCAC conference championship game. Additionally, Dann has been further recognized as one of two NCAA Division III players selected as an alternate for the inaugural skills competition at the 2006 NCAA Division I Men's Frozen Four weekend.

"Adam is a great kid, a remarkable kid. He is a gifted player and maybe the best open-ice player I've ever played with or coached," according to head coach Terry Meagher. "He has incredible speed that opens up the ice. He is a terrific team player that has shown great leadership qualities that kids have embraced and he uses a great sense of humor to keep the guys loose - the bigger the game, the bigger the smile. Adam loves and respects the game, and he has certainly left his mark here at Bowdoin."

Dann is the second Polar Bear to win the award. Mike Carosi '02 claimed the honor in 2002.

"To have one winner of the award was great but to have two winners is really special," comments Meagher. "I had known and respected Joe Concannon from my playing days in Boston. He was a terrific writer who really loved college hockey. He would be proud to have Adam win the award bearing his name."

"It has been another terrific season of competition at the Division II and III levels in New England college hockey," said Committee chairman Tim Costello. "All of the nominees had outstanding seasons and our three finalists truly distinguished themselves from a very talented field. Adam has demonstrated great skill, leadership and sportsmanship and can take his place among the elite group of past winners."

The 2006 Joe Concannon Award will be presented at the New England Hockey Writers Dinner on Thursday, April 13, 2006

Joe Concannon Award Winners

2001 - Keith Aucoin, Norwich University
2002 - Michael Carosi, Bowdoin College
2003 - Nick Stauder, Salem State College
2004 - Jim Pancyzkowski, Wesleyan University; Michael O’Sullivan, Curry College
2005 - Brian Doherty, Curry College; Joseph Ori, Trinity College
2006- Adam Dann, Bowdoin College

The Joe Concannon Award:
The Gridiron Club established the Joe Concannon Award in 2001 to honor Joe, a lifelong devotee of college hockey, former member of the Walter Brown Award Selection Committee and, as a journalist, a staunch advocate for the amateur athletes he knew and covered. A native of Litchfield, Connecticut, Joe graduated from Boston University in 1961. He served as sports information director (SID) at Holy Cross before joining the Boston Globe in the late 1960’s to cover college sports. Joe declined frequent invitations by his editors to write about Boston’s major professional sports teams, preferring to concentrate on the colleges, distance running and golf. He wrote the book Marathoning with Bill Rodgers and established the highly successful Litchfield Road Race in his hometown. Joe was a world traveler and was especially proud of his Irish heritage, frequently sojourning to the Emerald Isle. He passed away in 2000.