Women's Tennis All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Women's Tennis All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Shoemaker of Williams Named Player of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. - Williams senior Kara Shoemaker (Princeton, N.J.) has been chosen by the conference coaches as the NESCAC Player of the Year. Shoemaker went 25-5 and 28-8 at the No. 1 singles and doubles positions, respectively, to help the Ephs secure the second seed in the conference tournament and reach the NESCAC championship match. She is the third Williams player to earn the award, joining Stephanie Hall (2003, 2004) and Selma Kikic (2002). 

Shoemaker opened the fall season with a 13-3 record that saw her advance to the semifinal round of the USTA/ITA New England Regional Championship and the final round of the NEWITT Tournament. She followed up that success by winning her first 12 matches in the spring. Shoemaker was one of six singles players from the NESCAC chosen to participate in the NCAA individual championships from May 22-24 in Claremont, California. In addition to Player of the Year honors, she earned a spot on the First Team in singles for the third straight year. 

Shoemaker was also selected to the First Team in doubles with junior partner Rebecca Curran (Rumford, R.I.). The tandem won the USTA/ITA Small College Division III National Tennis Doubles Championship this fall en route to posting a 28-8 record and being selected to compete in the doubles portion of the NCAA Championships later this month. Last season, both players were selected First Team in doubles, while Shoemaker named to the doubles’ Second Team in 2012. Senior teammate Kathleen Elkins (Davidson, N.C.) added First Team singles recognition to her list of collegiate accolades. Elkins, who registered a record of 22-8 primarily at the No. 2 position this year, was First Team in singles and doubles in 2013, First Team in doubles in 2012 and Second Team in singles in 2011. She will cap off her career in the singles tournament of the NCAA Championships.    

NESCAC Champion Amherst was represented on the First Team in singles and doubles by seniors Jordan Brewer (La Quinta, Calif.) and Gabby Devlin (McLean, Va.). Brewer posted a 22-8 record at the No. 1 singles position to earn First Team recognition for the third time in her career. In the fall, she won the USTA/ITA New England Regional Championship and the NEWITT Tournament. Brewer was previously named to the First Team in singles in 2011 and 2013, as well as the 2011 Rookie of the Year. Devlin earned First Team recognition for the first time in her career after going 28-5 at the No. 2 position for the Jeffs. She advanced to the final of the USTA/ITA New England Regional Championship before falling to Brewer. As a doubles team, the defending NCAA champions have gone an impressive 28-1 this season and won the USTA/ITA New England Regional Championship. Devlin is making her fourth straight appearance on the First Team in doubles, while Brewer is making her third overall appearance (2011, 2013). Both will compete individuallly in the NCAA Singles Championship, and as a team in the doubles portion of the championship.

The Bowdoin doubles team of senior Kate Winingham (Indianapolis, Ind.) and first-year Samantha Stalder (Laguna Hills, Calif.) collected First Team honors. Since pairing up on March 19, the duo has gone 12-1, winning 12 consecutive matches at the No. 2 position heading into the NCAA Championships. It marks the first doubles all-conference award for Winingham, who was Second Team All-NESCAC in singles in 2012. 

Joining the pair is Bowdoin first-year Joulia Likhanskaia (Winter Park, Fla.), who was selected as the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. Likhanskaia posted an 18-3 singles record at the No. 1 through No. 3 positions to earn a spot on the First Team, while also going 12-11 at No. 1 doubles. She enjoyed win streaks of six and nine matches in singles play during the spring season. Likhanskaia joins Sarah D’Elia (2006) as the only Polar Bears to receive the award.

Rounding out the First Team singles honorees is Middlebury first-year Alexandra Fields (Coral Gables, Fla.). In her debut season, Fields posted a record of 13-6 at the No. 2 position for the Panthers. She has also been invited to compete at the NCAA individual championships.

Senior Samantha Gann (Massapequa, N.Y.) of Tufts has been named the conference’s Senior Sportswoman of the Year, becoming the fourth Jumbo to garner the accolade. The award is given annually to the individual who best combined and displayed a high standard of tennis coupled with the highest levels of sportsmanship.

Amherst head coach Jackie Bagwell has been chosen by her counterparts as NESCAC Coach of the Year for the second time in her career. Bagwell guided the Jeffs to the top seed in last weekend’s NESCAC Championship after posting a perfect conference record of 8-0. Amherst went on to win their ninth conference crown in the past 11 years, and opens NCAA Championship play this weekend at home. Bagwell previously earned the award in 2007.

Women's Tennis All Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Class Position Hometown
Jordan Brewer Amherst Sr. Singles/Doubles La Quinta, Calif.
Rebecca Curran Williams Jr. Doubles Rumford, R.I.
Gabby Devlin Amherst Sr. Singles/Doubles McLean, Va.
Kathleen Elkins Williams Sr. Singles Davidson, N.C.
Alexandra Fields  Middlebury Fy. Singles Coral Gables, Fla.
Joulia Likhanskaia Bowdoin Fy. Singles Winter Park, Fla.
Kara Shoemaker Williams Sr. Singles/Doubles Princeton, N.J.
Samantha Stalder Bowdoin Fy. Doubles Laguna Hills, Calif.
Kate Winingham Bowdoin Sr. Doubles Indianapolis, Ind.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Class Position Hometown
Tiffany Cheng Bowdoin So. Singles Laguna Hills, Calif.
Kathleen Elkins Williams Sr. Doubles Davidson, N.C.
Melita Ferjanic Trinity So. Singles Samobor, Croatia
Ria Gerger Middlebury So. Singles/Doubles Houston, Texas
Sue Ghosh Amherst So. Singles Gaithersburg, Md.
Jen Newman Amherst Sr. Doubles Philadelphia, Pa.
Kaysee Orozco Middlebury Fy. Doubles New Milford, N.J. 
Zoe Pangalos Amherst Sr. Doubles New York, N.Y.
Maria Pylypiv Williams Jr. Doubles Weatogue, Conn.
Linda Shin Williams Fy. Singles Johns Creek, Ga.
Kate Winingham Bowdoin Sr. Singles Indianapolis, Ind.
Kara Shoemaker
Player of the Year
Kara Shoemaker, Williams
Joulia Likhanskaia
Rookie of the Year
Joulia Likhanskaia, Bowdoin
Samantha Gann  
Senior Sportswoman Award
Samantha Gann, Tufts
Jackie Bagwell    
Coach of the Year
Jackie Bagwell, Amherst