Men's Tennis All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Men's Tennis All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Fritz of Amherst Named Player of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. - Amherst senior Joey Fritz (Cincinnati, Ohio.) has been selected by the conference coaches as the 2014 NESCAC Player of the Year. Fritz’s play helped the Jeffs earn their third conference championship in four seasons and sixth overall this season, as he has posted a 17-5 record heading into the NCAA championship. He is the second Jeff to receive the award along with Zack Lerner, who was Co-Player of the Year in 2009.

Fritz was named to the All-NESCAC First Team in both singles and doubles this season after earning first team recognition in singles last year. Fritz played out of the No. 1 position for the Jeffs, and enjoyed a stretch earlier this spring where he won 12 of 13 matches. During the fall, Fritz reached the Round of 16 at the USTA/ITA New England Regional Championship. He will compete at the upcoming NCAA Championships in singles and doubles with senior teammate Justin Reindel (Mamaroneck, N.Y.). Since becoming partners on October 5, the duo has posted a mark of 15-5 at the No. 1 position. Fritz and Reindel have played particularly well down the stretch, having won 13 of their last 14 matches.

A trio of players represented NESCAC runner-up Middlebury on the First Team. Senior Brantner Jones (Winnetka, Ill.) has garnered all-conference plaudits in each of his four years as a Panther. Jones landed on the First Team in singles and doubles this season after being a Second Team singles selection in 2013, a First Team singles pick in 2012 and a First Team doubles pick in 2011. After reaching the quarterfinal round of the USTA/ITA New England Regional Championships this fall, he played at the No. 2 and No. 3 positions this spring en route to a 20-7 record, resulting in him being named as a singles alternate for the NCAA Championships. Jones and sophomore doubles partner Palmer Campbell (Nashville, Tenn.), who won the USTA/ITA Small College Division III National Tennis Doubles Championship this fall, played at the No. 2 position this spring as they amassed a record of 30-9. Joining them on the First Team is senior Alex Johnston (Leeds, England), who earned First Team singles accolades for the second straight year. Johnston advanced to the Round of 16 at the USTA/ITA New England Regional Championship this past fall, and posted a record of 17-13 at the No. 1 position. He was selected to compete in singles and doubles at the NCAA Championships. 

Williams senior Matt Micheli (San Francisco, Calif.) was named to the First Team in singles after posting a record of 11-9 at the top position for the Ephs. After Williams returned from its spring break trip, he won eight of his next nine matches. Micheli completes his career as a four-year All-NESCAC honoree as he was chosen First Team singles and Second Team doubles in 2013, Second Team doubles in 2012 and Second Team singles and doubles in 2011. Micheli was selected as both a singles and doubles alternate for the NCAA Championships. 

Bates senior Timmy Berg (Bradenton, Fla.) earned all-conference honors in singles for the third straight year, but was selected in doubles for the first time. The 2011 Rookie of the Year was named Second Team in singles in 2011 and 2013 and First Team in singles in 2012. This season he posted a mark of 11-11 in the No. 1 position for the Bobcats. He teamed up with junior doubles partner Pierre Planche (Natick, Mass.) to amass a 13-4 record this spring. They are currently riding a six-match win streak into the NCAA Championships, where the tandem will compete later this month. 

Berg also earned the Clarence Chaffee Sportsmanship Award. The award is given annually to the individual who best combined and displayed a high standard of tennis coupled with the highest levels of sportsmanship. Berg is the second Bobcat to receive the award since 2001, joining Ben Lamanna (2002).

Colby first-year Carl Reid (Mattapan, Mass.) rounds out the First Team singles selections. He has won 14 straight matches dating back to March 8 playing at the No. 1 position for the Mules, and will compete in the singles draw of the NCAA Championships. Reid was also named Second Team doubles. As a result, Reid has been selected as the NESCAC Rookie of the Year, becoming the first Colby men’s tennis player to receive the accolade. 

Bob Hansen of Middlebury was recognized by his peers as NESCAC Men’s Tennis Coach of the Year for the first time. Hansen is in his third season at the helm of the Panthers’ program. This year, he helped Middlebury earn the top seed in the NESCAC Championship for the first time since 2010 with an undefeated conference record of 7-0. Since coming to Middlebury, he has guided the Panthers to the NCAA Tournament each year.

Men's Tennis All Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Class Position Hometown
Timmy Berg Bates Sr. Singles/Doubles Bradenton, Fla.
Palmer Campbell Middlebury So. Doubles Nashville, Tenn.
Joey Fritz Amherst Sr. Singles/Doubles Cincinnati, Ohio
Alex Johnston Middlebury Sr. Singles Leeds, England
Brantner Jones Middlebury Sr. Singles/Doubles Winnetka, Ill.
Matt Micheli Williams Sr. Singles San Francisco, Calif.
Pierre Planche Bates Jr. Doubles Natick, Mass.
Carl Reid Colby Fy. Singles Mattapan, Mass.
Justin Reindel Amherst Sr. Doubles Mamaroneck, N.Y.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Class Position Hometown
Daniel Carpenter Trinity Jr. Singles Wayzata, Minn.
Chris Dale Amherst Sr. Singles Austin, Texas
Conrad Harron Williams Fy. Singles/Doubles Chicago, Ill.
Alex Johnston Middlebury Sr. Doubles Leeds, England 
Sam King Bowdoin Sr. Singles Rye Brook, N.Y.
Andrew Lebovitz Middlebury Sr. Doubles Weston, Mass.
Matt Micheli Williams Sr. Doubles San Francisco, Calif.
Vlad Murad Colby Fy. Doubles Bacau, Romania
Carl Reid Colby Fy. Doubles Mattapan, Mass.
Ari Smolyar Middlebury So. Singles Short Hills, N.J
Michael Solimano Amherst So. Singles Montvale, N.J.
Joey Fritz
Player of the Year
Joey Fritz, Amherst
Carl Reid  
Rookie of the Year
Carl Reid, Colby
Timmy Berg  
Clarence Chaffee Sportsmanship Award
Timmy Berg, Bates
Bob Hansen    
Coach of the Year
Bob Hansen, Middlebury